View Other Sessions And Download Files

NICOP Opening Ceremony

Sunday, 29 June
11:00 a.m. -12:30 p.m.


  • Jerry Brown, President
    International Permafrost Association
  • Douglas Kane, Co-Chair
    General Conference Chair

Master of Ceremonies

  • Larry Hinzman, Co-Chair
    Program Chair


  • Mark Hamilton, President
    University of Alaska
  • Brian Rogers, Interim Chancellor
    University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • Jim Whitaker, Mayor
    Fairbanks North Star Borough
  • Mead Treadwell, Chair
    U.S. Arctic Research Commission
  • Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senator
    (video message)

Keynote Address

  • Larry Hartig, Commissioner
    State of Alaska, Department of Environmental Conservation

Closing Remarks

  • Hugues Lantuit,
    Coordinator Permafrost Young Researchers’ Network
  • Larry Hinzman, Co-Chair
    Program Chair


Please contact if you have trouble with viewing the movies.


NICOP video streams are being provided by the International Arctic Research Center with technical assistance from the Arctic Research Consortium of the United States. Special thanks also goes to the Arctic Region Supercomputing Center for volunteer support with presentation systems. Contact for more information.

This page was last modified: February 12, 2010. 12:20:23 pm