Legislative Citation Presented to Dr. Syun-Ichi Akasofu for Hannes Alfvén Medal

Wed, 08/08/2012 - 15:55

by Yuri Bult-Ito

Representative Bob Miller presented a legislative citation to Syun-Ichi Akasofu for the Hannes Alfvén Medal, which he received at the 2011 European Geosciences Union. Officials of the EGU awarded Akasofu the medal for "his outstanding achievements in Solar-Terrestrial Physics, establishing the substorm as a fundamental concept of magnetospheric physics." Miller was joined by Senator Joe Thomas, UA administration, faculty, staff, and students.


More information about the Hannes Alfvén Medal awarded to Akasofu can be found here:

IARC Director Larry Hinzman. (Photo: C. Stephenson)

IARC Director Larry Hinzman and Syun-Ichi Akasofu. (Photo: C. Stephenson)

From left to right: Representative Bob Miller, Syun-Ichi Akasofu, and Senator Joe Thomas (Photo: T. Nakai)

search similar: